​Canadian Lifetime Volunteer

The International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans is pleased to present the Canadian Lifetime Volunteer Award. This award recognizes an individual’s contributions toward the enrichment of the Foundation’s educational efforts and thereby its members.

Nomination Process

Nominations are held annually. Nominees will be evaluated by a subcommittee of the International Foundation Canadian Board. Following due diligence, the finalist(s) will be reviewed and a recipient selected by the Canadian Board, subject to final approval by the International Foundation Executive Committee.

Should there be no eligible candidates, no award will be given for the year. Self-nominations are not accepted. Should a nominee receive more than one nomination, the information will be compiled as one and will not influence the outcome. Winners of the award are excluded from winning future awards. Nominees must be current members or former members of the International Foundation in good standing. No posthumous nominations please.

Nomination Form [PDF]


Nominees should be held in the highest esteem by the Canadian employee benefits community, and will be evaluated on criteria including but not limited to length of service, professional designations, other academic achievements, overall body of volunteer work and contributions to the Canadian benefits industry. Candidates can include current or past International Foundation Canadian Board members, committee members, speakers, moderators, panelists, authors or other Foundation members.

The award will be presented at the Annual Canadian Employee Benefits Conference to be held August 16-19, 2020 in Halifax, Nova Scotia. The recipient is expected to be in attendance.


Nomination forms for the 2020 award are due by Friday, February 21, 2020.

Past Award Winners

2010  Gordon J. Manion, President, Manion, Wilkins & Associates Ltd., Etobicoke, Ontario
2011  Raymond Koskie, Q.C., Barrister and Solicitor, Koskie Minsky LLP, Toronto, Ontario
2012  Edgar Doull, Canadian Director (Retired), International Union of Operating Engineers, Kentville, Nova Scotia
2013  Brian M. Foote, Director of Labour Relations, Hamilton Halton General Contractors Association, Ancaster, Ontario
2014  Joan S. Tanaka, President, Prudent Benefits Administration Services Inc., Toronto, Ontario
2015  Malcolm P. Hamilton, M.Sc., FSA, Senior Fellow, C.D. Howe Institute, Toronto, Ontario
2016  John W. Crouse, M.A., FCIA, FSA, National Director, Pension Benefits and Actuarial Consulting, Johnson Inc., Edmonton, Alberta
2017  David N. Harvey, Chief Executive Officer, BPA Financial Group, Mississauga, Ontario.
2018  Lyall A. Nash, President and General Manager, TESTCO Western Corporation, Calgary, Alberta
2019  To be announced