Important Continuing Education Information (Please Read Before Ordering)
The Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Board has determined that, effective immediately, the Online Course program requirements outlined in the Provider Handbook will eliminate the need for a proctor. Specifically, a Proctor Certification form is no longer required for exams that are administered online.
Reporting Continuing Education
Your Student Certification form must be faxed within seven business days of passing your examination. Fax to: (262) 786-8670. If you fail to fax the Student Certification form you will be required to pay a $25 administrative charge and retake the final exam.
Student Certification form must be completed by the student and submitted to the course provider by mail, email or facsimile transmission within 7 calendar days of the course completion. No credit shall be given to any student who fails to provide to the provider with the Student Certification. .
Additional Continuing Education Information
Detailed continuing education information is available directly from your state insurance Web site:
The International Foundation provides this information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to continuing education (CE) as insurance producers and/or brokers. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither the International Foundation nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.
IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY TO BE CE COMPLIANT, INCLUDING PAYMENT OF ALL FEES. IF YOU CHOOSE TO DELEGATE RESPONSIBILITY FOR KEEPING TRACK OF AND/OR ENSURING YOUR CE COMPLIANCE TO ANOTHER PERSON (SUCH AS AN AGENCY MANAGER, SECRETARY, LICENSING CLERK, COMPLIANCE OFFICER, FELLOW AGENT, FAMILY MEMBER, OR OTHER THIRD PARTY), THE ULTIMATE RESPONSIBILITY FOR NONCOMPLIANCE, AND ANY RESULTING PENALTIES, WILL CONTINUE TO BE YOURS.
These courses are caterogrized as Non-Company/Non AGency. No more than 75 percent of your required credits can come from Company/Agency course credits. Additionally, at leaset three (3) course credits must be earned for Ethics (Law and Regulations).
Agents cannot receive CE credit for a course taught in alternative formats (a classroom, course, online course, video or audio conference, web-conference-based, etc.) if the curriculum is based on the same published materials; this rule applies to any variation of course type. For example, Agents cannot receive CE credit for both a self-study (examiniation course) and a classroom course based on the same published materials.
Excess earned EThics credits may be applied to cover other CE requirements in the current biennium and any remaing credits may be carried over to the enxt biennium and applied to either the Ethics requirement or other CE requirement.
Agents are not allowed to receive or carry over credit for the same course in the same biennium
ONLY the Virginia Insurance License Number (VLN) or the National Producer number (NPN) are permitted for identification. Please be sure that you have recorded your number so that the instructor can read it, as illegible submissions will result in a delay of reporting course audits.
These classes may be audited by representatives of PEARSON VUE. Pearson VUE is a private company who in partnership with Vertafore was contracted by the Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Board to administer all facets of the continuing education program for the Board effective with the 2009-2010 biennium.
CE credits for this course should be posted to your transcript within 20 calendar days. If your transcript does not reflect this course within 20 calendar days, please contact the provider.
Agents are expected to give their full attention to all classes. All electronic devices should be turned off and put away along with any reading material other than material applicable to this class
Agents and consultants who fail to update their addrss with the Virginia Bureau of Insurance may not receive important notices. Agents may update their address and add or update their email address online at www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/online/aspx.
Agents who are newly licensed in the second year of a biennium are exempt from the continuing education requirements for that biennium. These agents may elect to take continuing education courses and earn credits that may be carried over to the next biennium provided they pay the $20 continuance for the current biennium. Failure to pay this continuance fee will prevent the credits earned from being carried over to the next biennium when the agent will be required to meet all continuing education requirements.
Each agent should review the Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Agent Information Handbook for complete guidelines at www.VirginiaInsuranceCE.com Copies may also be obtained from Pearson VUE by calling 1-877-234-6093 or by sending an email to: VirginiaInsuranceCE@pearson.com
NOTE: Agents should visit www.virginiaInsuranceCE.com to view updated CE credits for the current biennium and compliance status (CE transcript) information and to pay their biennial Continuance fee of $20.00
All continuing education providers and instructors must strictly adhere to all relevant Program Requirements and all other standards set forth in this Provider Information Handbook. This Provider Handbook may be modified from time to time to reflect Commonwealth of Virginia statutory changes, regulatory changes by the State Corporation Commission, as well as policy changes made by the Virginia Continuing Education Board.
Note: If you would like CE for a Virginia Insurance License, please contact the CE Department BEFORE you purchase the course so we can discuss this with you.